What's the difference between a personal WhatsApp, WhatsApp Business, and WhatsApp Business API?

Personal WhatsApp is the regular WhatsApp app aimed at individual users. It is designed for informal interactions with friends, acquaintances, and/or relatives.

WhatsApp Business adds basic features for small businesses. It can be installed and used in parallel with the personal WhatsApp app. It includes features such as templates, contact tagging, and basic automation like quick responses and out of office messages.

WhatsApp Business API is also directed at businesses, but it also includes the option to connect with other applications to improve businesses' service processes. This is the application Sirena is integrated with.


I already have a WhatsApp line for my business, do I need to create a new one to use Sirena?

If the line you are using is already associated with a WhatsApp Business account with API access, you will need to create a new line. WhatsApp's policies do not allow a number that was disconnected from the API to be used again with WhatsApp Business or personal WhatsApp.

If the line you are using is associated with a WhatsApp Business or personal WhatsApp account, you should delete this account. As soon as you start using Sirena your account will be WhatsApp Business API.


Can I use my number somewhere else if I end my contract with Sirena?

Once you start using Sirena with the WhatsApp Business API, you will not be able to use this number without Sirena. This is because WhatsApp's policies to do allow you to go from a WhatsApp Business API account to a basic Business or personal account.

However, you do have some options for continuing to use your number:

  • Use the number with Sirena, using the WhatsApp Business account you already created.

  • Migrate the number for the WhatsApp Business account you created in Sirena to another API provider. Sirena is not involved in this process. You will need to sign up with another provider that works with portability and request it.

  • Delete the phone number from the WhatsApp Business account or delete the account itself and wait about 90 days. The days start counting from when the number is removed from Facebook, not necessarily from when you delete your account with Sirena. In any case, you can go to your Facebook Business manager and delete it yourself.

If you don't complete the process of integration WhatsApp Business API with Sirena or delete your account before finishing that step, your account will continue as it is.

In summary, this is how moving your number between the various WhatsApp types works:

Personal WhatsApp to WhatsApp Business API. ✅

WhatsApp Business to WhatsApp Business API. ✅

WhatsApp Business API to another WhatsApp Business API account ❌

WhatsApp Business API to WhatsApp Business. ❌

WhatsApp Business API to personal WhatsApp. ❌

Did this answer your question?